Winners of Small Charity Fundraising Qualification Bursaries Announced

Press release | 21st December 2017

Winners of Small Charity Fundraising Qualification Bursaries Announced

Nine winners have been awarded a bursary in the FSI’s Introduction to Fundraising Practice as part of the DCMS Small Charity Training Programme.

This award will provide an introduction to key fundraising concepts and skills for the following winners from charities with a turnover under £100,000:

  • Amy Shocker, Invincible Me
  • Philip Matthew Riley, Sutton Youth Radio Ltd
  • Christellah Mubaira, Urban MBA
  • Sally Guile, Cowdray Heritage Trust
  • Karen Mitchell, TADS
  • Sally Long, Friends of Cricklewood Library
  • Pratima Dattani, Support Northamptonshire
  • Mendy Korer, Chabad Lubavitch of Islington
  • Deborah Koby, Learn to Love to Read

The bursary is providing 80% of the funding needed for an Introduction to Fundraising Practice qualification.  Of the full £360 fee, 40% of the funding for the bursary comes from DCMS and 40% from the generous supporters to the FSI. This means only 20% (£72) is payable by the winning charities.

Amber Shotton, Head of Learning and Membership at the FSI said

“It was a difficult process to choose the winners but we are now very excited to be working with the winning individuals to improve their fundraising skills and knowledge, and therefore the fundraising success of their organsiations. Fundraising isn’t easy, especially in the current environment so we can’t wait to get these small charities started on their Introduction to Fundraising Practice”

Further bursaries will be opened in the New Year.



For additional information or interview requests please contact – Conchita Garcia 020 7324 4777

The FSI, Charity Number 1123384, supports the UK’s vibrant small charity sector with free and heavily subsidised training, advocacy and support programmes aimed at building sustainability and knowledge-sharing.

Charity members of the FSI have an annual turnover of under £1.5 million and membership is free.